Listen: The Fiery Furnace


You can hear the entire performance
ofThe Fiery Furnace, performed by the
San Diego Symphony and Master Chorale,
on Instant Encore.

For information on performing this work or obtaining a perusal score, please contact SDG.


Other SDG-Commissions from Kellogg

From Everlasting to Everlasting
A cycle of Psalms for mezzo-soprano and orchestra, consisting of four pieces based on Psalms 57. Duration: 17 minutes.

O Greening Branch
A celebratory work for chorus and concert band inspired by the poetry of Hildegard von Bingen.

Preserve Me, O God
Choral work based on Psalm 16. The first commission in SDG’s Psalm Project. Duration: 6 minutes.

Children of God
Scored for children’s choir, piano quintet, and soprano and mezzo-soprano soloists. Duration: 18 minutes


“Daniel Kellogg … is one of the most exciting composers around – technically assured, fascinated by unusual sonic textures, unfailingly easy to listen to, yet far from simplistic.”—The Washington Post

Daniel Kellogg’s rise as a composer began after he was chosen as Young Concert Artists Composer-in-Residence in 2002. He has had premieres with the Philadelphia Orchestra, the National Symphony Orchestra, the San Diego Symphony, the Colorado Symphony Orchestra, Ensemble Orchestral de Paris, the Takács Quartet with the University of Colorado Wind Symphony, and the Aspen Chamber Orchestra; and upcoming premieres with the South Dakota Symphony, the United States Air Force Academy Band, the Takács Quartet, and the choirs of Yale University.

Dr. Kellogg is Assistant Professor of Composition at the University of Colorado, and his honors include a Charles Ives Fellowship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, a Charles Ives Scholarship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, six ASCAP Young Composer Awards, the BMI William Schuman Prize, and the ASCAP Rudolf Nissim Award. His works have been performed at Carnegie’s Weill Recital Hall, the Kimmel Center, Lincoln Center, the Kennedy Center, China’s National Centre for the Performing Arts, and broadcast on NPR’s “Performance Today” and “St. Paul Sundays” among others.

For Daniel Kellogg's complete biography, please visit his website.

To read Daniel Kellogg's blog posts on the rehearsals leading up to the premiere of The Fiery Furnace, visit his composition blog. (Scroll down to Tuesday, April 15 and read up, for a chronological progression.)

The Fiery Furnace

Daniel Kellogg
The Fiery Furnace

Mixed chorus (SATB), tenor, bass soloists & orchestra
DURATION: 35 minutes
TEXT: story of Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego and the fiery furnace from the Old Testament book of Daniel.
Dramatic oratorio in seven movements, performed without break, that encompasses moments of tenderness, clashing dissonance and triumphant joy.



World Premiere
April 2008
San Diego Symphony
San Diego Master Chorale
Nicholas Phan, tenor
Steven Richardson, bass
Jahja Ling, conductor
Symphony Hall
San Diego, CA


San Diego Symphony rehearsing The Fiery Furnace  

The Fiery Furnace is an oratorio in seven movements, performed without break. The text is based on the Old Testament story of three men who were rescued by an angel from death in a blazing furnace, where they had been thrown for their refusal to bow down to an idol erected by King Nebuchadnezzar II of Babylon.

I. Prayer of the Israelites
II. Nebuchadnezzar erects an image of gold
III. Praise for the image of gold
IV. Refusing to worship the image of gold
V. Prayer of hope
VI. The burning fiery furnace
VII. Praise the God of Judah


"The story of Daniel and the fiery furnace has a wonderful dramatic arch that works well for oratorio style story telling and offers many musical possibilities. There is the wild music that calls people to worship the image of gold, the terrifying music that accompanies the scene of the furnace, and the ecstatic music of praise that ends the story. In addition to passages from Daniel 3, I use passages from Daniel 9 (Daniel confesses the corporate sins of Israel and asks for God's mercy). and numerous Psalms. These extras passages flesh out the thoughts and prayers of the Israelites and the three Jewish advisors who are thrown into the furnace with Daniel. A tenor sings the part of one of the priests and a baritone sings the part of King Nebuchadnezzar. The chorus echoes the thoughts of the soloists as they sing parts of both the Israelites and the people in the land of Babylon."   —Daniel Kellogg

To read the composer's program notes, click here.











Daniel Kellogg reflects on the experience of composing The Fiery Furnace


Jahja Ling conducting  

The Fiery Furnace was given three performances by the San Diego Symphony, under the direction of Maestro Jahja Ling.

The San Diego Master Chorale won the 2009 Chorus America/ASCAP Alice Parker Award for their collaboration with the San Diego Symphony Orchestra for their performance of The Fiery Furnace.




"[This] oratorio is a wonderful composition. [Kellogg’s] writing for the soloists and chorus shows a great understanding of the expressiveness of the human voice. His orchestra writing is simple but profound.”—Jahja Ling, conductor of the San Diego Symphony(from the San Diego Union-Tribune)